top of page

"My new life in America" by Ta - Hanoi, Vietnam

You may have read many different stories called “American dream” and here is another one. However my dream is slightly different. It came so suddenly that I did not have much time for “take it or leave it”. Also it came so late that I almost forget about its existence, but it is life no pain no gain, dreams never come true if you do not try really hard and nevertheless you need some good luck.

I have started pursuing my American dream since I was a college student. Unfortunately, I could not make it even-though I had tried very hard applying for several scholarships including Full-Bright scholarship, the one that I did quite well as one of the semi-finalists. The other option was going on my own expenses but it was too expensive and my family could not afford it. Twenty years later, when my daughter was already in high school and my son was finishing his elementary school. My wife suddenly received an offer from the World Bank for an open ended job working in Washington DC after more than 10 years working at the Bank as an accountant. All for our children’s future we decided to move to America after just one day or so consideration. That is how my American dream started.

Up to now we have been in America for over 2 years, not so long but many things have been changed since the day we made the first step in the country. As I recalled, the first couple of weeks was like honey moon time. We were so excited exploring our new life, never got enough time to try new things such as American cuisine, sightseeing or experiencing the world most diversifying culture. After honey moon time was back challenging time. My wife got to work to pay all the bills and I got to start finding a job to share the financial burden with her. Also we got to find a house since renting apartment was not a good investment. Thank God and friends, we finally found and bought a Compaq but convenient house at Rockville city. Also I have been able to find a job. Although it is only a part time job but instead they pay me well and more important I have plenty of time to take care of my family and learn new things. Another good news is that my daughter has been offered a full year scholarship from Montgomery College for the major she wanted. Moreover, it can be extended to 2nd year if she does well in the first year.

Looking back the past 2 years in America, I would say my American dream has come true but yet has it been a heaven. Still I have a lot to do to make it better and I will never give up!.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page