top of page

"American Dream" by Phelomene from Paris

Like many foreign women, my main reason to come to this country is to join my husband and my son. It has never come to my mind to migrate to this country except maybe to just visit. But the power of love and being with my “family” made me to move here. Since I have been living in this country, two daily aspects of American life have been my everyday tasks to deal with: the language, the behavior.

I came from France, therefore I speak French. I do not speak English. I could not therefore communicate with or understand people. The language became my first and biggest problem. Sometime I am frustrated because I feel dumb and ignorant. Fortunately for me, my son accompanies me time to time to do my groceries or other tasks. My main reason to take the English courses is to take my frustration away and to be able to communicate with others.

The second aspect of my life in America is my behavior vis-a-vis of others people. I needed to change my behavior and make an effort to understand what is set to me. Taking English courses and learning English is helping me to gradually come to contact with American culture. American culture is very different from French culture in many ways, from the foods to interaction with people.

I can say today that my new life in America has taught me how to think about the world from a different angle. I can speak English, a language I was not giving any importance even when I was going to school back in France. I have learned a little bit what American life is.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page